Recipe analysis

The recipe 

Buttermilk Bran Muffins

Ingredients

1/3 cup (80ml) honey

3 Tablespoons (45ml) butter, softened

1 egg beaten

1 Cup (250ml) buttermilk

3/4 cup (180 ml) bran

3/4 cup (180ml) all purpose flour

1/4 cup (60ml) seedless raisons

Method

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit

Cream together the honey and butter and stir in the egg and buttermilk. In a separate bowl, stir together the remaining ingredients and gradually add them to the creamed mixture to make a thick, smooth batter.

Spoon the batter into greased muffin tins, filling them by about two-thirds. Bake for about 15 minutes until golden and a toothpick inserted into the centre of a muddin comes out clean.

Why this recipe?

I choose this recipe because the title “Buttermilk Bran Muffins” really caught my attention and it seemed like a very tasty treat. Since i have always loved muffins, I wanted to make some myself. After reading through the ingredients and method, I became very excited and determined to make these muffins and try them. My family also really enjoy muffins so I want to make this for them too.

Recipe Format 

The format of this recipe is Standard Format with the ingredients listed at the top and the steps stated below. In my opinion, this is the easiest format to follow because I like when the ingredients is listed seperately.

Metric or Imperial 

This recipe was found in the book “Canadian Family Cooking” so it should be metric but it also included imperial.

Recipe Terms 

Cream: When you mix two ingredients until it becomes smooth and creamy.

Stir: Mix ingredients

Spoon: Use a spoon to put ingredients onto something

Yield Change 

This recipe makes about 1 dozen muffins which is perfect for my family and I. However, if you feel that this is not enough, you can always double the recipe. If you choose so, the doubled recipe will be listed below:

2/3 cup (160ml) honey

6 Tablespoons (90ml) butter, softened

2 egg beaten

2 Cup (500ml) buttermilk

1 1/2 cup (360 ml) bran

1 1/2 cup (360ml) all purpose flour

1/2 cup (120ml) seedless raisons

Equipment and tools

– Bowls

– Measuring cup

– Measuring spoon

– Muffin Baking Tray

– Gloves

– Oven

– Whisk

– Spatula

– Spoon

Let’s Begin 

First I gathered all the ingredients and tools that i need

IMG_2642[1]Next i measured the honey…

 IMG_2643[1]

The butter

 IMG_2646[1]

1 egg beaten

IMG_2648[1]

The buttermilk

 IMG_2649[1]

The bran

nIMG_2650[1]

All purpose flour

IMG_2651[1]

Baking Powder

rIMG_2655[1]

The raisins

IMG_2653[1]

After i had measured everything, I was ready to do the next step.

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit

IMG_2665[1]

First, I creamed together the honey and butter and stir in the egg and buttermilk. This is what i looked like when I was finished.

 IMG_2659[1]

Next, I stirred together all the remaining ingredients in a separate bowl.

IMG_2661[1]IMG_2660[1]

After I gradually added the creamed mixture to that to make a thick, smooth batter.

 IMG_2663[1]

Lastly, I spooned the butter into muffin tines, filling them by about two-thirds.

IMG_2664[1]

Finally, i was able to bake the the muffins!

IMG_2666[1]

After 15 minutes i took out the muffins as they look like deliciously golden colour.

IMG_2667[1]

Recipe Evaluation

This was the first time that I’ve ever baked anything in my house. I found it quite successful. The muffins tasted fantastic. It was soft and warm and definitely some of the best muffins that I have ever tasted. I shared it with my mom and dad and they enjoyed it just as much as I did. I will be making this recipe much more in the future for myself or quests that come over.

This recipe was very easy to follow. It was not complicated at all and I ran into almost more obstacles. I think that the muffins did not rise enough but it still tasted amazing so I am satisfied. Overall, I enjoyed not only eating these muffins but also the experience of cooking it.

Leave a Reply

